Texas, here we come..

Tuesday’s drive was much shorter and we arrived at Mabank, Texas shortly after lunch and got set up at the municipal campground. We had hydro, water and sewer connections which is always nice. After lunch we drove a few miles to Wes’ house and spent the afternoon visiting. Wes has a great place in a mostly bush property in the country outside of Mabank. Wes served up some street tacos for supper which were very good. We stayed into the evening and then back to the Motorhome.

Wednesday morning Kim had some journalling to do and I set about to fix our coffeemaker. We have a under the counter type coffeemaker that is original to the Motorhome and it has worked great until it didn’t. This one is so convenient for us that we would rather not have to replace it with one that takes up room on the counter. Well I like to fix things (well most things) so I set out to do just that. My first problem was that the case was held together with security torx screws. For those who don’t know, a torx security screw is a torx screw with a small post in the middle that won’t allow a regular torx screwdriver to fit into it. It requires a very special tool to remove. I found a work around for those who might run into this some time. I used a small flat screwdriver that you would find in a miniature screwdriver set and was able to insert it beside the post and removed the screw. I know that’s too much information for most people so, if you like, you can just pretend that you didn’t read it. Anyway, I did get the case off and began testing everything. I finally discovered that one of the connections had become dirty or corroded and just needed a little cleaning, and voila, it worked. I’m always quite pleased when I can repair something instead of just throwing it out. Sometimes I like the challenge.

I called around to a few Mobile RV service people in the Mabank area to see if I could find someone who could fix my propane generator on the Motorhome. I didn’t get any responses to my inquiries that day. Later in the day we headed back to Wes’ for Happy Hour and jammed a little on guitar.

Thursday morning we met Wes at his place at 9:30 and headed off to 1st Monday. The show/sale runs for 4 days. The show starts on the Thursday before the first Monday of every month. It’s basically a huge flea market. Actually, it’s the largest flea market in the USA. It has been in operation since 1851. And this place is HUGE……. For a Thursday it was very busy too…I can only imagine how busy it is on the weekend. We spent probably 5 hours walking around and only made a dent in it. Wes was after horseshoes and railroad spikes and Kim was after things to do with stationary and writing. Both were successful in their searches.

Friday morning I went and got some groceries and I took the car in to get an oil change. In the afternoon we stayed at the RV. I mentioned that I tried to find an RV tech… well, of the 3 I contacted, only one responded. He called me while were at the trade show; we talked for a bit and he said he would stop by on Friday at 3:00. That was the main reason we stayed around the RV for the day on the off chance he might arrive early. Nope…. he didn’t show. He didn’t call to let us know he couldn’t make….nothing. I tried calling him a couple times but no response. I was hoping to get this taken care of but not this time. We decided to just crash for the rest of the day at the RV.



On Saturday Kim and I headed into Dallas. I wanted to get 2 new batteries for the house part of the Motorhome. I was successful at the first store we tried. Next was to find a new sewer hose. After an unsuccessful search at a couple RV Stores we ended up buying one at ….Walmart….. Next stop was lunch and we already had planned where that would be Lockhart Barbq in the Bishop Arts district close to downtown Dallas. Wes brought us here the first year we visited him in 2019. It was excellent then and it was excellent now. This is the best Barbq brisket I have ever had. I like to think I make a pretty good brisket but there is no comparison. It’s not cheap though, but it was worth extra money this once. Downtown Dallas is not a fun place to drive. I would be totally lost with GPS. We went to Wes’ for Happy Hour later in the afternoon and stayed early into the evening.

Sunday was the last full day to spend here in Mabank. We went to Wes’ after lunch for some football and he cooked a Sunday roast beef dinner for us for supper, just like our parents made Sunday roast for after church back in the day . It was excellent… just like Aunt Ruth (Wes’ Mom) used to make… In the evening Wes’ neighbour, Steve, stopped by for a visit. It was a nice comfortable evening on the porch.

We struck out from Mabank on Monday morning and headed toward Magnolia Beach on the coast of the Gulf of Mexico.



  • Post
  • Block

Summary

VisibilityPublic

PublishImmediately

URLjourneywithkenandkim.home.blog/2023/11/08/finally-heading-south-again/Stick to the top of the blogPending reviewPOST FORMATAsideStandardAUTHORjourneykkSwitch to draftMove to trash

Excerpt

Access

3 Revisions

Categories

Tags

Featured image

Discussion

Open publish panel

  • Post

Notifications

Moved 2 blocks to clipboard.

journeywithkenandkimhome.wordpress.comCustomize your domain

2 thoughts on “Texas, here we come..

  1. I couldn’t agree more
    This blog post was a great read! It sounds like you had a fantastic time visiting Mabank and exploring the flea market. I love how you were able to fix your coffeemaker, it’s always satisfying to be able to repair something instead of replacing it. My question is, did you ever find someone to fix your propane generator on the Motorhome?
    Johnie
    AiRiches.Online

    Like

Leave a comment